None

[ View the whole list ]

Most users ever online was 20 on Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:09 am

Basics and Welcome

Go down

Basics and Welcome

Post by Celestria on Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:40 pm

Basics

Welcome to Spirits of the Crystal. This is a forum for fans of the Final Fantasy RPG videogames to come and role play in a world based upon the worlds we love so well. By coming here, we hope that you seek to join our numbers and become another member of our group.

Admittedly, if you are unfamiliar with the concept of forum-based role-play, this might seem a bit daunting. I know that it was very daunting for me when I first started, and I have twenty years of experience with role-playing and even more years with writing.

Text-based role-playing, like we have here, is a form of community created fanfiction. Basically, each player controls a single character, sometimes more than that, and together we weave a tapestry that tells a unified story. Sort of.

Well, that's the theory at least.

Community driven fiction is chaotic even at best, but it is rewarding beyond anything which is done alone. When more than one person is involved in a story, the whole is greater than the sum of the parts, and it can be a wonder to behold.

It's why I keep coming back to role-playing, even though I have honed my writing skills through other forms of fiction.

Community driven fanfiction is even more particular, and just as rewarding.

There are, though, some things that a beginning player needs to know before starting out on the character building process.

First off, the medium we use is text. Color can be added to text to make it more visually appealing, but the way we communicate is through words. That means that every attempt to use those words properly is highly appreciated. Spellcheck, a handy thesaurus, whatever you need to use, make use of it. But what is more important is the imagination and creativity which each player brings to the board.